Offshore Safety Awards

The aim of the Offshore Safety Awards is to acknowledge, showcase and recognise the outstanding contribution that individuals, teams, and organisations make to improve safety at their worksites and across the wider industry. The awards and ‘Positively Influencing Safety’ event have been scheduled to coincide with the week of the 35th anniversary of the Piper Alpha disaster, in order to bring the offshore industry together to engage, inspire and most importantly act, as they remember those that lost their lives on the 6th July 1988.


Previous Winners

Maritime Safety Award, sponsored by Marine Safety Forum

  • MPA Marine Department, Montrose Port Authority

Safety Rep of the Year, sponsored by OPITO

  • Paul Dow, Wood

Welfare and Wellbeing, sponsored by bp

  • Joel Devine, Oceaneering

Operational Integrity, sponsored by CNOOC International

  • Elgin Fabric Maintenance Campaign Team 2022, TotalEnergies

Workforce Engagement

  • Fiona Welsh, TAQA Group

Sharing and Learning, sponsored by Spirit Energy

  • David Jamieson, Salus Technical

Award for Maritime Safety

  • Artur Stols, Vroon Offshore Services Ltd

Award for Safety Representative of the Year

  • Alan Bartlett, Stork

Award for Welfare and Wellbeing

  • North Sea Mental Health Champions, bp

Award for Operational Integrity

  • Rebecca Main, Anasuria Operating Company

Award for Workforce Engagement

  • Ian McKnight & Paul Parkes, Wood

Award for Sharing and Learning

  • Sean Buchan, Global E&C

Postponed due to Covid

Postponed due to Covid

Award for Maritime Safety

  • Oleg Krushynin, Solstad & Eric Wiseman, Seacroft Marine Consultants

Award for Safety Representative of the Year

  • Lee Chegwidden, production technician at Apache

Award for Innovation in Safety

  • CNOOC International and DNV GL

Award for Operational Integrity

  • CNOOC International in recognition of their Hydrocarbon Release Prevention (HRP) Programme.

Award for Workforce Engagement

  • BP Clair Ridge Safety Representatives and operations technicians

Award for Sharing and Learning

  • Shell UK’s Brent Decommissioning Project


Be the first to receive our news and alerts by signing up to join the Step Change in Safety website

Register Now